Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • |1995 INDEX|
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Slovenia Government 1995

      conventional long form: Republic of Slovenia
      conventional short form:
      local long form: Republika Slovenije
      local short form: Slovenija
      Digraph: SI
      Type: emerging democracy

      Capital: Ljubljana
      Administrative divisions: 60 provinces (pokajine, singular - pokajina) Ajdovscina, Brezice, Celje, Cerknica, Crnomelj, Dravograd, Gornja Radgona, Grosuplje, Hrastnik Lasko, Idrija, Ilirska Bistrica, Izola, Jesenice, Kamnik, Kocevje, Koper, Kranj, Krsko, Lenart, Lendava, Litija, Ljubljana-Bezigrad, Ljubljana-Center, Ljubljana-Moste-Polje, Ljubljana-Siska, Ljubljana-Vic-Rudnik, Ljutomer, Logatec, Maribor, Metlika, Mozirje, Murska Sobota, Nova Gorica, Novo Mesto, Ormoz, Pesnica, Piran, Postojna, Ptuj, Radlje Ob Dravi, Radovljica, Ravne Na Koroskem, Ribnica, Ruse, Sentjur Pri Celju, Sevnica, Sezana, Skofja Loka, Slovenj Gradec, Slovenska Bistrica, Slovenske Konjice, Smarje Pri Jelsah, Tolmin, Trbovlje, Trebnje, Trzic, Velenje, Vrhnika, Zagorje Ob Savi, Zalec

      Independence: 25 June 1991 (from Yugoslavia)
      National holiday: Statehood Day, 25 June (1991)

      Constitution: adopted 23 December 1991, effective 23 December 1991

      Legal system: based on civil law system
      Suffrage: 16 years of age, if employed; 18 years of age, universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Milan KUCAN (since 22 April 1990); election last held 6 December 1992 (next to be held NA 1996); results - Milan KUCAN reelected by direct popular vote
      head of government: Prime Minister Janez DRNOVSEK (since 14 May 1992); Deputy Prime Minister Lojze PETERLE (since NA)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers

      Legislative branch: bicameral National Assembly
      State Assembly: elections last held 6 December 1992 (next to be held NA 1996); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (total 90) LDS 22, SKD 15, United List (former Communists and allies) 14, Slovene National Party 12, SLS 10, Democratic Party 6, ZS 5, SDSS 4, Hungarian minority 1, Italian minority 1
      State Council: will become operational after next election in 1996; in the election of 6 December 1992 40 members were elected to represent local and socioeconomic interests

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court, Constitutional Court

      Political parties and leaders: Slovene Christian Democrats (SKD), Lozje PETERLE, chairman; Liberal Democratic (LDS), Janez DRNOVSEK, chairman; Social-Democratic Party of Slovenia (SDSS), Joze PUCNIK, chairman; Socialist Party of Slovenia (SSS), Viktor ZAKELJ, chairman; Greens of Slovenia (ZS), Dusan PLUT, chairman; National Democratic, Rajko PIRNAT, chairman; Democratic Peoples Party, Marjan PODOBNIK, chairman; Reformed Socialists (former Communist Party), Ciril RIBICIC, chairman; United List (former Communists and allies); Slovene National Party, leader NA; Democratic Party, Igor BAVCAR; Slovene People's Party (SLS), Ivan OMAN
      note: parties have changed as of the December 1992 elections
      Other political or pressure groups: none
      Member of: CCC, CE, CEI, CSCE, EBRD, ECE, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT (nonsignatory user), INTERPOL, IOC, IOM (observer), ITU, NAM (guest), UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation in US:
      chief of mission: Ambassador Ernest PETRIC
      chancery: 1525 New Hampshir Avenue NW, Washington, DC, 20036
      telephone: (202) 667-5363
      consulate(s) general: New York
      US diplomatic representation:
      chief of mission: Ambassador E. Allan WENDT
      embassy: P.O. Box 254, Prazakova 4, 61000 Ljubljana
      mailing address: use embassy street address
      telephone: [386] (61) 301-427/472/485
      FAX: [386] (61) 301-401

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of white (top), blue, and red with the Slovenian seal (a shield with the image of Triglav in white against a blue background at the center, beneath it are two wavy blue lines depicting seas and rivers, and around it, there are three six-sided stars arranged in an inverted triangle); the seal is located in the upper hoist side of the flag centered in the white and blue bands

      NOTE: The information regarding Slovenia on this page is re-published from the 1995 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Slovenia Government 1995 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Slovenia Government 1995 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Revised 09-Aug-02
    Copyright © 2002 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)