ABC logo

. Index

. Flag

. Geography

. People

. Government

. Economy

. Transportation

. Commun'tions

. Defense

. Geo Names

. Feedback




    • Names:

        conventional long form:
        Department of Martinique

        conventional short form:

        local long form:
        Departement de la Martinique

        local short form:

    • Digraph:

    • Type:
      overseas department of France

    • Capital:

    • Administrative divisions:
      none (overseas department of France)

    • Independence:
      none (overseas department of France)

    • National holiday:
      National Day, Taking of the Bastille, 14 July (1789)

    • Constitution:
      28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

    • Legal system:
      French legal system

    • Suffrage:
      18 years of age; universal

    • Executive branch:

        chief of state:
        President Francois MITTERRAND (since 21 May 1981)

        head of government:
        Prefect Michel MORIN (since NA); President of the General Council Claude LISE (since 22 March 1992); President of the Regional Council Emile CAPGRAS (since 22 March 1992)

        Council of Ministers

    • Legislative branch:
      unicameral General Council and a unicameral Regional Assembly

        General Council:
        elections last held 25 September and 8 October 1988 (next to be held NA); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (44 total) number of seats by party NA; note - a leftist coalition obtained a one-seat margin

        Regional Assembly:
        elections last held on 22 March 1992 (next to be held by March 1998); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (41 total) RPR-UDF 16, MIM 9, PPM 9, PCM 5, independents 2

        French Senate:
        elections last held 24 September 1989 (next to be held NA); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (2 total) UDF 1, PPM 1

        French National Assembly:
        elections last held NA June 1993 (next to be held NA June 1998); results - percent of vote by party NA; seats - (4 total) RPR 3, FSM 1

    • Judicial branch:
      Supreme Court

    • Political parties and leaders:
      Rally for the Republic (RPR), Stephen BAGOE; Union for a Martinique of Progress (UMP); Martinique Progressive Party (PPM), Aime CESAIRE; Socialist Federation of Martinique (FSM), Michel YOYO; Martinique Communist Party (PCM); Martinique Patriots (PM); Union for French Democracy (UDF), Jean MARAN; Martinique Independence Movement (MIM), Alfred MARIE-JEANNE; Republican Party (PR), Jean BAILLY

    • Other political or pressure groups:
      Proletarian Action Group (GAP); Alhed Marie-Jeanne Socialist Revolution Group (GRS); Caribbean Revolutionary Alliance (ARC); Central Union for Martinique Workers (CSTM), Marc PULVAR; Frantz Fanon Circle; League of Workers and Peasants; Parti Martiniquais Socialiste (PMS); Association for the Protection of Martinique's Heritage (ecologist)

    • Member of:
      FZ, WCL, WFTU

    • Diplomatic representation in US:
      none (overseas department of France)

    • US diplomatic representation:
      the post closed in August 1993 (overseas department of France)

    • Flag:
      the flag of France is used

Thank you for making this an award winning site

Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

ITA Home Page
The IMMIGRATION Superhighway Feedback

Flags of all Countries
Yahoo search

Revised 13-August-1997