Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1989 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Venezuela Government - 1989

      Long-form name: Republic of Venezuela

      Type: republic

      Capital: Caracas

      Administrative divisions: 20 states (estados, singular--estado), 2 territories* (territorios, singular--territorio), 1 federal district** (distrito federal), and 1 federal dependence*** (dependencia federal); Amazonas*, Anzoategui, Apure, Aragua, Barinas, Bolivar, Carabobo, Cojedes, Delta Amacuro*, Dependencias Federales***, Distrito Federal**, Falcon, Guarico, Lara, Merida, Miranda, Monagas, Nueva Esparta, Portuguesa, Sucre, Tachira, Trujillo, Yaracuy, Zulia; note--the federal dependence consists of 11 federally controlled island groups with a total of 72 individual islands

      Independence: 5 July 1811 (from Spain)

      Constitution: 23 January 1961

      Legal system: based on Napoleonic code; judicial review of legislative acts in Cassation Court only; dual state and federal court system; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Independence Day, 5 July (1811)

      Branches: executive--president; legislative--(bicameral National Congress)--Senate, Chamber of Deputies; judicial--Supreme Court

      Leader: @m5Chief of State and Head of Government President Carlos Andres PEREZ (since 2 February 1989)

      Suffrage: universal and compulsory over age 18, though poorly enforced

      Elections: every five years by secret ballot; last held December 1988; next national election for president and bicameral legislature scheduled for December 1993; municipal and gubernatorial elections planned for mid-1989

      Political parties and leaders: Social Christian Party (COPEI), Eduardo Fernandez, secretary general; Democratic Action (AD), Gonzalo Barrios, president, and Humberto Celli, secretary general; Movement Toward Socialism (MAS), Teodoro Petkoff, president, and Freddy Munoz, secretary general

      Voting strength: (1988 Chamber of Deputies election) 43.7% AD, 31.4% COPEI, 10.3% MAS, 5.0% others (receiving more than 1% of the vote)

      Communists: 10,000 members (est.)

      Other political or pressure groups: FEDECAMARAS, a conservative business group; Venezuelan Confederation of Labor, the Democratic Action - dominated labor organization

      Member of: Andean Pact, AIOEC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICO, IDB--Inter-American Development Bank, IFAD, IFC, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IPU, IRC, ITU, IWC--International Wheat Council, LAIA, NAM, OAS, OPEC, PAHO, SELA, WFTU, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Valentin HERNANDEZ; Chancery at 2445 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008; telephone (202) 797-3800; there are Venezuelan Consulates General in Baltimore, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Miami, New Orleans, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and San Juan (Puerto Rico); US--Ambassador Otto J. REICH; Embassy at Avenida Francisco de Miranda and Avenida Principal de la Floresta, Caracas (mailing address is P. O. Box 62291, Caracas 1060-A, or APO Miami 34037); telephone �58� (2) 284-6111 or 7111; there is a US Consulate in Maracaibo

      Flag: three equal horizontal bands of yellow (top), blue, and red with the coat of arms on the hoist side of the yellow band and an arc of seven white five-pointed stars centered in the blue band

      NOTE: The information regarding Venezuela on this page is re-published from the 1989 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Venezuela Government 1989 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Venezuela Government 1989 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 15-Apr-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)