Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Dominica Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Commonwealth of Dominica

      Type: parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Roseau

      Administrative divisions: 10 parishes; Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Luke, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick, Saint Paul, Saint Peter

      Independence: 3 November 1978 (from UK)

      Constitution: 3 November 1978

      Legal system: based on English common law

      National holiday: Independence Day, 3 November (1978)

      Executive branch: president, prime minister, Cabinet

      Legislative branch: unicameral House of Assembly (includes 9 appointed senators and 21 elected representatives)

      Judicial branch: Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State--President Sir Clarence Augustus SEIGNORET (since 19 December 1983); Head of Government--Prime Minister (Mary) Eugenia CHARLES (since 21 July 1980)

      Political parties and leaders: Dominica Freedom Party (DFP), (Mary) Eugenia Charles; Labor Party of Dominica (LPD, a leftist-dominated coalition), Michael Douglas; United Workers Party (UWP), Edison James

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: President--last held 20 December 1988 (next to be held December 1993); the president is elected by the House of Assembly; House of Assembly--last held 1 July 1985 (next to be held July 1990); results--percent of vote by party NA; seats--(21 total) DFP 17, LPD 4

      Communists: negligible

      Other political or pressure groups: Dominica Liberation Movement (DLM), a small leftist group

      Member of: ACP, CARICOM, Commonwealth, FAO, GATT (de facto), G-77, IBRD, IDA, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTERPOL, OAS, OECS, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: there is no Chancery in the US; US--no official presence since the Ambassador resides in Bridgetown (Barbados), but travels frequently to Dominica

      Flag: green with a centered cross of three equal bands--the vertical part is yellow (hoist side), black, and white--the horizontal part is yellow (top), black, and white; superimposed in the center of the cross is a red disk bearing a sisserou parrot encircled by 10 green five-pointed stars edged in yellow; the 10 stars represent the 10 administrative divisions (parishes)

      NOTE: The information regarding Dominica on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Dominica Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Dominica Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)