Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1990 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Soviet Union Government - 1990

      Long-form name: Union of Soviet Socialist Republics; abbreviated USSR

      Type: Communist state

      Capital: Moscow

      Administrative divisions: 1 soviet federative socialist republic* (sovetskaya federativnaya sotsialistcheskaya respublika) and 14 soviet socialist republics (sovetskiye sotsialisticheskiye respubliki, singular--sovetskaya sotsialisticheskaya respublika); Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic, Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic, Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, Estonian Soviet Socialist Republic, Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic, Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic, Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republic, Latvian Soviet Socialist Republic, Lithuanian Soviet Socialist Republic, Moldavian Soviet Socialist Republic, Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic*, Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic, Turkmen Soviet Socialist Republic, Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic, Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic; note--the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic is often abbreviated RSFSR and Soviet Socialist Republic is often abbreviated SSR

      Independence: 1721 (Russian Empire proclaimed)

      Constitution: 7 October 1977

      Legal system: civil law system as modified by Communist legal theory; no judicial review of legislative acts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      National holiday: Great October Socialist Revolution, 7-8 November (1917)

      Executive branch: president

      Legislative branch: the Congress of People's Deputies is the supreme organ of USSR state power and selects the bicameral USSR Supreme Soviet (Verkhovnyy Sovyet) which consists of two coequal houses--Council of the Union (Sovet Soyuza) and Council of Nationalities (Sovet Natsionalnostey)

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court of the USSR

      Leaders: Chief of State--President Mikhail Sergeyevich GORBACHEV (since 14 March 1990; General Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party since 11 March 1985); Head of Government--Chairman of the USSR Council of Ministers Nikolay Ivanovich RYZHKOV (since 28 September 1985)

      Political parties and leaders: only party--Communist Party of the Soviet Union (CPSU), President Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachev, general secretary of the Central Committee of the CPSU; note--the CPSU is the only party, but others are forming

      Suffrage: universal at age 18

      Elections: President--last held 14 March 1990 (next to be held NA 1995); results--Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachev was elected by the Congress of People's Deputies; Congress of People's Deputies--last held 12 March 1990 (next to be held NA); results--CPSU is the only party; seats--(2,250 total) CPSU 1,931, non-CPSU 319; USSR Supreme Soviet--last held NA June 1989 (next to be held NA); results--CPSU is the only party; seats--(542 total) CPSU 475, non-CPSU 67; Council of the Union--last held Spring 1989 (next to be held NA); results--CPSU is the only party; seats--(271 total) CPSU 239, non-CPSU 32; Council of Nationalities--last held Spring 1989 (next to be held NA); results--CPSU is the only party; seats--(271 total) CPSU 236, non-CPSU 35

      Communists: about 19 million party members

      Other political or pressure groups: Komsomol, trade unions, and other organizations that facilitate Communist control; regional popular fronts, informal organizations, and nascent parties with varying attitudes toward the Communist Party establishment

      Member of: CEMA, ESCAP, IAEA, IBEC, ICAC, ICAO, ICCO, ICES, ILO, ILZSG, IMO, INRO, INTERPOL, IPU, ISO, ITC, ITU, International Whaling Commission, IWC--International Wheat Council, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, Warsaw Pact, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador-designate Aleksandr BESSMERTNYKH; Chancery at 1125 16th Street NW, Washington DC 20036; telephone (202) 628-7551 or 8548; there is a Soviet Consulate General in San Francisco; US--Ambassador Jack F. MATLOCK, Jr.; Embassy at Ulitsa Chaykovskogo 19/21/23, Moscow (mailing address is APO New York 09862); telephone p7o (096) 252-24-51 through 59; there is a US Consulate General in Leningrad

      Flag: red with the yellow silhouette of a crossed hammer and sickle below a yellow-edged five-pointed red star in the upper hoist-side corner

      NOTE: The information regarding Soviet Union on this page is re-published from the 1990 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Soviet Union Government 1990 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Soviet Union Government 1990 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 07-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)