Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 1991 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Brunei Government - 1991

      Long-form name: Negara Brunei Darussalam

      Type: constitutional sultanate

      Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan

      Administrative divisions: 4 districts (daerah-daerah, singular--daerah); Belait, Brunei and Muara, Temburong, Tutong

      Independence: 1 January 1984 (from UK)

      Constitution: 29 September 1959 (some provisions suspended under a State of Emergency since December 1962, others since independence on 1 January 1984)

      Legal system: based on Islamic law

      National holiday: National Day, 23 February (1984)

      Executive branch: sultan, prime minister, Council of Cabinet Ministers

      Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Council (Majlis Masyuarat Megeri)

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court

      Leaders: Chief of State and Head of Government--Sultan and Prime Minister Sir Muda HASSANAL BOLKIAH Muizzaddin Waddaulah (since 5 October 1967)

      Political parties and leaders: Brunei United National Party (inactive), Anak HASANUDDIN, chairman; Brunei National Democratic Party (the first legal political party and now banned), leader NA

      Suffrage: none

      Elections: Legislative Council--last held in March 1962; in 1970 the Council was changed to an appointive body by decree of the sultan and no elections are planned

      Communists: probably none

      Member of: APEC, ASEAN, C, ESCAP, ICAO, IDB, IMO, INTERPOL, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, OIC, UN, UNCTAD, UPU, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation: Ambassador Dato Paduka Haji Mohamed SUNI bin Haji Idris; Chancery at 2600 Virginia Avenue NW, Washington DC 20037; telephone (202) 342-0159; US--Ambassador Christopher H. PHILLIPS; Embassy at Third Floor, Teck Guan Plaza, Jalan Sultan, Bandar Seri Begawan (mailing address is P. O. Box 2991, Bandar Seri Begawan and Box B, APO San Francisco, 96528); telephone [673] (2) 229-670

      Flag: yellow with two diagonal bands of white (top, almost double width) and black starting from the upper hoist side; the national emblem in red is superimposed at the center; the emblem includes a swallow-tailed flag on top of a winged column within an upturned crescent above a scroll and flanked by two upraised hands

      NOTE: The information regarding Brunei on this page is re-published from the 1991 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Brunei Government 1991 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Brunei Government 1991 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 08-Feb-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)