Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Buy a wall map at

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Togo Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: Togolese Republic
      conventional short form: Togo
      local short form: none
      former: French Togoland
      local long form: Republique Togolaise

      Government type: republic under transition to multiparty democratic rule

      Capital: Lome

      Administrative divisions: 5 regions (regions, singular - region); De La Kara, Des Plateaux, Des Savanes, Centrale, Maritime

      Independence: 27 April 1960 (from French-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday: Independence Day, 27 April (1960)

      Constitution: multiparty draft constitution approved by High Council of the Republic 1 July 1992; adopted by public referendum 27 September 1992

      Legal system: French-based court system

      Suffrage: NA years of age; universal adult

      Executive branch: chief of state: President Gen. Gnassingbe EYADEMA (since 14 April 1967)
      head of government: Prime Minister Koffi SAMA (since 29 June 2002)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president and the prime minister
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 1 June 2003 (next to be held NA June 2008); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Gnassingbe EYADEMA reelected president; percent of vote - Gnassingbe EYADEMA 57.8%, Emmanuel Akitani BOB 33.7%, Yawovi AGBOYIBO 5.1%, Maurice Dahuku PERE 2.2%, Edem KODJO 1.0%

      Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (81 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 27 October 2002 (next NA 2007)
      note: two opposition parties boycotted the election, the Union of the Forces for Change, and the Action Committee for Renewal
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - RPT 72, RSD 3, UDPS 2, Juvento 2, MOCEP 1, independents 1

      Judicial branch: Court of Appeal or Cour d'Appel; Supreme Court or Cour Supreme

      Political parties and leaders: Juvento [Monsilia DJATO]; Movement of the Believers of Peace and Equality or MOCEP [leader NA]; Rally for the Support for Development and Democracy or RSDD [Hanay OLYMPIO]; Rally of the Togolese People or RPT [President Gnassingbe EYADEMA]; Union for Democracy and Social Progress or UDPS [Gagou KOKOU]
      note: Rally of the Togolese People or RPT, led by President EYADEMA, was the only party until the formation of multiple parties was legalized 12 April 1991

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, ECA, ECOWAS, Entente, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ITU, MIPONUH, NAM, OAU, OIC, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WADB (regional), WAEMU, WCL, WCO, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Akoussoulelou BODJONA
      FAX: [1] (202) 232-3190
      telephone: [1] (202) 234-4212
      chancery: 2208 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008

      Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission: Ambassador Karl HOFMANN
      embassy: Angle Rue Kouenou and Rue 15 Beniglato, Lome
      mailing address: B. P. 852, Lome
      telephone: [228] 221 29 91 through 221 29 94
      FAX: [228] 221 79 52

      Flag description: five equal horizontal bands of green (top and bottom) alternating with yellow; there is a white five-pointed star on a red square in the upper hoist-side corner; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

      NOTE: The information regarding Togo on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Togo Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)