Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search Open sharebox Close sharebox
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2003 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    . Feedback

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Niue Government - 2003

      Country name: conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Niue
      former: Savage Island

      Dependency status: self-governing in free association with New Zealand since 1974; Niue fully responsible for internal affairs; New Zealand retains responsibility for external affairs and defense; however, these responsibilities confer no rights of control and are only exercised at the request of the Government of Niue

      Government type: self-governing parliamentary democracy

      Capital: Alofi

      Administrative divisions: none; note - there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 14 villages at the second order

      Independence: on 19 October 1974, Niue became a self-governing parliamentary government in free association with New Zealand

      National holiday: Waitangi Day (Treaty of Waitangi established British sovereignty over New Zealand), 6 February (1840)

      Constitution: 19 October 1974 (Niue Constitution Act)

      Legal system: English common law
      note: Niue is self-governing, with the power to make its own laws

      Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch: chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); the UK and New Zealand are represented by New Zealand High Commissioner John BRYAN (since NA May 2000)
      election results: Young VIVIAN elected premier; percent of Legislative Assembly vote - Young VIVIAN (NPP) 70%, Hunukitama HUNUKI (AI) 30%
      elections: the monarch is hereditary; premier elected by the Legislative Assembly for a three-year term; election last held 1 May 2002 (next to be held NA May 2005)
      head of government: Premier Young VIVIAN (since 1 May 2002)
      cabinet: Cabinet consists of the premier and three ministers

      Legislative branch: unicameral Legislative Assembly (20 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms; six elected from a common roll and 14 are village representatives)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - NPP 9, independents 11; note - all 20 seats were reelected
      elections: last held 21 March 2002 (next to be held in March 2005)

      Judicial branch: Supreme Court of New Zealand; High Court of Niue

      Political parties and leaders: Niue People's Action Party or NPP [Young VIVIAN]; Alliance of Independents or AI [leader NA]

      Political pressure groups and leaders: NA

      International organization participation: ACP, ESCAP (associate), FAO, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UNESCO, WHO, WMO

      Diplomatic representation in the US: none (self-governing territory in free association with New Zealand)

      Diplomatic representation from the US: none (self-governing territory in free association with New Zealand)

      Flag description: yellow with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant; the flag of the UK bears five yellow five-pointed stars - a large one on a blue disk in the center and a smaller one on each arm of the bold red cross

      NOTE: The information regarding Niue on this page is re-published from the 2003 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guinea Geography 2003 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Niue Government 2003 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Revised 20-Sep-03
    Copyright © 2020 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)