Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2006 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Hong Kong Index 2006

    Hong Kong Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Hong Kong Government - 2006

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
      conventional short form: Hong Kong
      local long form: Xianggang Tebie Xingzhengqu
      local short form: Xianggang
      abbreviation: HK

      Dependency status:
      special administrative region of China

      Government type:
      limited democracy

      Administrative divisions:
      none (special administrative region of China)

      none (special administrative region of China)

      National holiday:
      National Day (Anniversary of the Founding of the People's Republic of China), 1 October (1949); note - 1 July 1997 is celebrated as Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day

      Basic Law, approved in March 1990 by China's National People's Congress, is Hong Kong's "mini-constitution"

      Legal system:
      based on English common law

      direct election 18 years of age; universal for permanent residents living in the territory of Hong Kong for the past seven years; indirect election limited to about 200,000 members of functional constituencies and an 800-member election committee drawn from broad regional groupings, municipal organizations, and central government bodies

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President of China HU Jintao (since 15 March 2003)
      head of government: Chief Executive Donald TSANG (since 24 June 2005)
      cabinet: Executive Council consists of 14 official members and 15 non-official members
      elections: previous chief executive TUNG Chee-hwa was elected to second five-year term in March 2002 by 800-member election committee dominated by pro-Beijing forces, resignation accepted 12 March 2005; Donald TSANG acted as chief executive between 12 March 2005 and 25 May 2005; Henry TANG acted as chief executive between 25 May 2005 and 24 June 2005; TSANG was elected on 16 June 2005 to fill final two years of TUNG's term (next election to be held in March 2007)

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Legislative Council or LEGCO (60 seats; in 2004 30 seats indirectly elected by functional constituencies, 30 elected by popular vote; members serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 12 September 2004 (next to be held in September 2008)
      election results: percent of vote by party - pro-democracy group 62%; seats by party - (pro-Beijing 34) DAB 12, Liberal Party 10, independents 11, FTU 1; (pro-democracy 25) independents 11, Democratic Party 9, CTU 2, ADPL 1, Frontier Party 1, NWSC 1; non-voting LEGCO president 1

      Judicial branch:
      Court of Final Appeal in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

      Political parties and leaders:
      Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood or ADPL [Frederick FUNG Kin-kee]; Citizens Party [Alex CHAN Kai-chung]; Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong or DAB [MA Lik]; Democratic Party [LEE Wing-tat]; Frontier Party [Emily LAU Wai-hing]; Liberal Party [James TIEN Pei-chun]
      note: political blocs include: pro-democracy - ADPL, Democratic Party, Frontier Party; pro-Beijing - DAB, Liberal Party

      Political pressure groups and leaders:
      Article 45 Concern Group (pro-democracy); Chinese General Chamber of Commerce (pro-China); Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong; Confederation of Trade Unions or CTU (pro-democracy) [LAU Chin-shek, president; LEE Cheuk-yan, general secretary]; Federation of Hong Kong Industries; Federation of Trade Unions or FTU (pro-China) [CHENG Yiu-tong, executive councilor]; Hong Kong Alliance in Support of the Patriotic Democratic Movement in China [Szeto WAH, chairman]; Hong Kong and Kowloon Trade Union Council (pro-Taiwan); Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce; Hong Kong Professional Teachers' Union [CHEUNG Man-kwong, president]; Neighborhood and Workers' Service Center or NWSC (pro-democracy); The Alliance [Bernard CHAN, exco member]

      International organization participation:
      APEC, AsDB, BIS, ICC, ICFTU, IHO, IMF, IMO (associate), IOC, ISO (correspondent), UPU, WCL, WCO, WMO, WToO (associate), WTO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (special administrative region of China)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      chief of mission: Consul General James B. CUNNINGHAM
      consulate(s) general: 26 Garden Road, Hong Kong
      mailing address: PSC 461, Box 1, FPO AP 96521-0006
      telephone: [852] 2523-9011
      FAX: [852] 2845-1598

      Flag description:
      red with a stylized, white, five-petal bauhinia flower in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Hong Kong on this page is re-published from the 2006 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Hong Kong Government 2006 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Hong Kong Government 2006 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 06-Jun-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)