Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2006 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    Pitcairn Islands Index 2006

    Pitcairn Islands Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Pitcairn Islands Government - 2006

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands
      conventional short form: Pitcairn Islands

      Dependency status:
      overseas territory of the UK

      Government type:


      Administrative divisions:
      none (overseas territory of the UK)

      none (overseas territory of the UK)

      National holiday:
      Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, second Saturday in June (1926)

      30 November 1838; reformed 1904 with additional reforms in 1940; further refined by the Local Government Ordinance of 1964

      Legal system:
      local island by-laws

      18 years of age; universal with three years residency

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by UK High Commissioner to New Zealand and Governor (nonresident) of the Pitcairn Islands Richard FELL (since NA December 2001); Commissioner (nonresident) Leslie JAQUES (since September 2003); serves as liaison between the governor and the Island Council
      head of government: Governor Richard FELL; Mayor and Chairman of the Island Council Jay WARREN (since 15 December 2004)
      cabinet: NA
      elections: the monarchy is hereditary; high commissioner and commissioner appointed by the monarch; island mayor elected by popular vote for a three-year term; election last held December 2004 (next to be held December 2007)
      election results: Jay WARREN elected mayor and chairman of the Island Council

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Island Council (10 seats - 5 elected by popular vote, 1 nominated by the 5 elected members, 2 appointed by the governor including 1 seat for the Island Secretary, the Island Mayor, and a commissioner liaising between the governor and council; elected members serve one-year terms)
      elections: last held in 24 December 2005 (next to be held December 2006)
      election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - all independents

      Judicial branch:
      Magistrate's Court; Supreme Court; Court of Appeal; Judicial Officers are appointed by the Governor

      Political parties and leaders:

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      SPC, UPU

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Flag description:
      blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Pitcairn Islander coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms is yellow, green, and light blue with a shield featuring a yellow anchor

      NOTE: The information regarding Pitcairn Islands on this page is re-published from the 2006 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Pitcairn Islands Government 2006 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Pitcairn Islands Government 2006 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 06-Jun-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)